CNYThe renminbi is the official currency of the People’s Republic of China. The ISO code for renminbi (which may also be used for the yuan) is CNY. The name (simplified Chinese: 人民币; traditional Chinese: 人民幣; pinyin: rénmínbì) literally means „people’s currency“. The yuan (Chinese: 元/圆;pinyin: yuán) (sign: ¥) is the basic unit of the renminbi, but is also used to refer to the Chinese currency generally, especially in international contexts. The distinction between the terms renminbi and yuan is similar to that between sterling and pound, which respectively refer to the British currency and its primary unit. One yuan is subdivided into 10 jiao (Chinese: ; pinyin: jiǎo), and a jiao in turn is subdivided into 10 fen (Chinese: ;pinyin: fēn).

Coins: ¥0.01, ¥0.02, ¥0.05, ¥0.1, ¥0.5, ¥1

Banknotes: ¥0.1, ¥0.2, ¥0.5, ¥1,¥2, ¥5, ¥10, ¥20, ¥50, ¥100


National currency: allows up to 20 000 CNY
Foreign currency: to declare from 5 000 USD


National currency: allows up to 20 000 CNY
Foreign currency: allows up to 5 000 USD (or the amount declared on entry)