The franc (sign: Fr. or SFr. or FS; German: Franken, French and Romansh: franc, Italian: franco; code: CHF) is the currency and legal tender of Switzerland and Liechtenstein; it is also legal tender in the Italianexclave Campione d’Italia. The Swiss National Bank (SNB) issues banknotes and the federal mint Swissmint issues coins.

The smaller denomination, a hundredth of a franc, is a Rappen (Rp.) in German, centime (c.) in French, centesimo (ct.) in Italian, and rap (rp.) in Romansh. The ISO code of the currency used by banks and financial institutions is CHF, although „Fr.“ is used by most businesses and advertisers; some use SFr.; the Latinate „CH“ stands for Confoederatio Helvetica.

Coins 5, 10 & 20 centimes, 12, 1, 2 & 5 francs
Banknotes 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 & 1,000 francs



National currency: no limit
Foreign currency: no limit


National currency: no limit
Foreign currency: no limit


Swiss customs authorities conduct random checks. If you are carrying CHF 10 000 or more you will be questioned about the origin and intended purpose of the money.